Lawyers: qualifications

1  Academic qualifications

People wishing to practise law must complete an approved course of study. In Victoria, the approved courses are the Bachelor of Laws (LLB) and the Juris Doctor degree (JD). The LLB and JD include 11 compulsory subjects. In Victoria, eight universities offer law courses that are approved Australian Catholic University, Deakin University, La Trobe University, Monash University, RMIT University, Swinburne University of Technology, The University of Melbourne and Victoria University. For detailed information about these courses, visit the universities’ websites.

2  Practical legal training

Before a LLB or JD graduate can be admitted to practise law, they need to complete either 12 months of supervised workplace training or a practical legal training course. More information is available at

3  Supervised legal practice

After being admitted to practise law, all lawyers must carry a practising certificate before they can provide legal services. A lawyer’s ability to provide legal services is always restricted at first; meaning their work must be supervised for 18 months or two years by a lawyer who has an unrestricted practising certificate; after that period, they can work unsupervised. The VLSB+C can grant an exemption from the supervised legal practice restriction in some circumstances. More information is available at