Lawyers: qualifications


1   Academic qualifications

People wishing to practise law must complete an approved course of study. In Victoria, the approved courses are the Bachelor of Laws (LLB) and the Juris Doctor degree (JD). The LLB and JD include 11 compulsory subjects. In Victoria, eight universities offer law courses that are approved:

Australian Catholic University;

Deakin University;

La Trobe University;

Monash University;

RMIT University;

Swinburne University of Technology;

The University of Melbourne;

Victoria University.

For detailed information about these courses, visit the universities’ websites.

2   Practical legal training

Before a LLB or JD graduate can be admitted to practise law, they also need to complete either 12 months of supervised workplace training or a practical legal training course. More information is available at

3   Supervised legal practice

In addition, after being admitted to practise law, all solicitors (not barristers) must carry a practising certificate before they can provide legal services. A solicitor’s first practising certificate is always restricted; meaning their work must be supervised for 18 months or two years by a solicitor who has a non-restricted practising certificate; after that period, they can work unsupervised. More information is available at